Committees/Task Forces

WSRA's goals are accomplished through the work of statewide committees. WSRA members are encouraged to serve on one of the committees listed below.  To express your interest in serving on a committee, click here for the self nomination form. 

Join WSRA!  Renew your WSRA membership  Full-time Undergraduate Students can join WSRA for $10 with full benefits

Contact WSRA at [email protected] 

2017-2018 WSRA Board of Directors, WSRA COMMITTEES and TASK FORCES:

Advocacy Chair Mike Ford [email protected]

PI 34 Chair Luann Dreifuerst [email protected]

Authors Festival Co-Chairs: Ginny Laurent  [email protected] and Sue Bradley [email protected] 
  • Children's Literature  The WSRA Children's Literature Committee members dedicate themselves to reading widely in order to evaluate the newest books published each year.  This is done to recommend the most interesting and valuable books for educators and children to read.  The committee considers titles published during the 15 months prior to the convention calendar year and evaluates books based on the quality of the literature, the appeal for students, and the value for classroom use.  The committee creates two lists to help educators select titles for use in their specific areas. The "Just One More Page" list highlights the committee's recommendations for the best of the newest chapter books through eighth grade, while "Picture This" highlights the recommendations for the best of the newest picture books.  The lists are revealed at the annual WSRA convention in February and can be found after the convention on the WSRA website.

Children's Literature Chair  Jillian Heise [email protected]
Convention Planning Chair 2019 La Tasha Fields  [email protected] 
Early Childhood Literacy      New chairs for this committee will be determined soon. 
Early Literacy Intervention Chair Mari Nelson [email protected] 

Elementary Reading Co-Chairs Pam Welter [email protected] and Kelly Luedeke [email protected]

Task Force Co-Chairs Kathy Champeau  [email protected] and Deb Zarling [email protected]
Families and Literacy Chair Amy Sippert [email protected] The Families and Literacy Committee compose monthly calendars of ideas and created two DVDs. Click the link to order the DVDs. 
High School Literacy Chair Trina Haase [email protected] and Peg Grafwallner [email protected]
Intellectual Freedom Chair Aimee Jahns [email protected]
International Partnership Chair Linda Lustig [email protected]
Legislative Chair Kathy Champeau [email protected]
Membership Director 2018-2021 Mark Rajkovich
Membership Chair Terri Dolloff [email protected]
Middle Level Literacy Co-Chairs Rachel Quill [email protected] and Patty Sankey [email protected]
2018-2019 Nominations Chair, Gale Gerharz [email protected] 
Preservice Teachers Chair  to be determined for 2018-2019
Publications Chair Judy Hartl  [email protected]
Reading and Technology Chair Keith Schroeder [email protected]
Reading Specialist Chair Deb Zarling [email protected]
Research Co-Chairs Amy Frederick [email protected] and Krissy Lize [email protected]
Title I Chair Sue Madsen [email protected]